Hanover County Reckless Driving Lawyer
Reckless Driving in Hanover County, Virginia is a serious criminal charge. Whether you are a Virginia resident or from out-of-state, if you’ve been caught driving more than 80 mph then you will be charged with a class one misdemeanor which can result in significant penalties and a permanent criminal record if you do not successfully fight the charge.
Contact our Hanover County, VA reckless driving law firm today for a FREE reckless driving case evaluation to ensure your legal rights are protected and help you fight a permanent criminal record in Virginia: 804.285.3888.
Without a skilled Hanover county reckless driving lawyer, you may face undue consequences and hardships and will likely jeopardize your reckless driving case. Our Virginia traffic law firm has helped numerous clients successfully fight reckless driving charges in Hanover County, Virginia, so contact us today for a FREE legal consultation.
What Are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Hanover, Virginia?
§ 46.2-868. Reckless driving; penalties.
A. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
B. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article who, when he committed the offense, (i) was driving without a valid operator’s license due to a suspension or revocation for a moving violation and, (ii) as the sole and proximate result of his reckless driving, caused the death of another, is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
Punishment for a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia
§ 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of misdemeanor.
The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:
(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.
(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.
(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.
Experienced Hanover County Reckless Driving Attorneys
Our Virginia traffic attorneys provide legal representation to clients who have received traffic violations in Richmond, Henrico County, Dinwiddie County, Hanover County, and Chesterfield County, Virginia.